Book Review: San Pedro The Gateway to Wisdom by Ross Heaven

img_7411-2

San Pedro

The Gateway to Wisdom

by Ross Heaven 

 

 

I first saw San Pedro when travelling in Northern Peru. Our guide discovered I was interested in healing and proudly showed me a cactus with the words ‘You’ll know what this is then’. Only an inspired guess saved me, for although I had indeed heard of the plant I had never seen it before.

Even though I work as a shamanic healer and as such have worked with plants as teachers, I have never worked with any of ‘TheTeacher Plants’ of which San Pedro is one. Ross Heaven though has worked with all of them and ‘San Pedro The Gateway to Wisdom’ is part of his informative series on Shamanic Plant Spirits.

This is not a ‘how to’ book by any means and even though it contains information on the different San Pedro Ceremonies, as well as ways of preparing the medicine the author throughout encourages safe and responsible practice to the extent that there is a whole section on how to work safely with San Pedro.

Included in the book are detailed accounts of the properties of San Pedro and first hand experiences of Ross Heaven and a number of his students and clients as well as background. Information on Andean healing.
This is an easy to read book and is the perfect introduction to San Pedro for anyone with an interests in working with Plant Spirits themselves, or wishing to understand how San Pedro helps to heal.