Gong Bath and Sound Journey

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 13.47.14

The first time I had any form of sound healing was when a local therapy rooms played host to a Sound Healer from, if I remember correctly, South Africa. Here the healer worked intuitively using drums, rattles, bells and more. It was my first introduction to sound being used as a form of healing and I was fascinated by it.

As a Shamanic Healer I often use a lot of sound in my work and here I work with the spirit of the instruments allowing them to find imbalances and disturbances in energy of a person or place. I allow them to play as they need to in order to clear or shift whatever they have found and to bring healing and balance. In my work I might use one or more of my singing bowls, shamanic drums, rattles, bells or chimes, all of which have different spirits, energies and voices and who work in many different ways.

I also work with these instruments when performing my own version of a sound healing, working with their spirits as always, along with the enemies of those I am working on.

Yesterday though I attended my first Gong Bath and Sound Journey. There were singing bowls, various forms of chimes, a wave drum, shamanic drum, instruments I do not know the name of, plus two fabulous gongs. It really was a bath of sound, energy and vibration as the waves washed over me, healing and shifting in their own waves, but it was the gongs that carried me deep into a shamanic journey so that for me at least, the real healing could take place.

I have neither the space or the need for a gong yet there is a part of me that now desires one. This is not going to happen but at least with the wonderful and talented Sharon Quigley moving around  the area I live in, bringing her Gong Bath and Sound Journey to those of us not living in the city I will have ample opportunity to be bathed in sound as often as I feel drawn to do so.

The photo is of some of the instruments used in the Gong Bath and Sound Journey by Druid’s Cave.

 

2 thoughts on “Gong Bath and Sound Journey

Comments are closed.