A Grand Clear Out

Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 13.01.33

 

The weather has changed a bit here and so making the most of a showery day yesterday I had a grand clear out πŸ™‚

Energetically it is good to have a clear out of stuff every now and then, to keep the energy moving and to make space for new things, but this was a clear out needed because my wardrobe was so full I couldn’t get any more in 😦

I can be pretty ruthless when it comes to clearing out but with clothes I always find if good to have a second opinion especially when I am throwing out things that still have a lot of wear in them. Yesterday with that second opinion I filled several bags with things that were too tatty to keep even if I loved them, things that I hadn’t worn for ages and sadly some things that I love but can no longer fit in to, unless I hold my breath and don’t eat when I’m wearing them.

Having done this it then dawned on me that I have been clearing out in other ways too. I have deleted several groups from my Facebook groups, groups I hardly visit and groups I no longer enjoy. Even though these groups were just sitting there doing nothing what is left still feels much more manageable somehow. I have also deleted any friend requests from people I don’t know and have been through my lists of friends to check I really do know them all and that no-one has sneaked in.

Having done this I have since found is that my attention is being drawn back to things that I hadn’t been interested in doing for quite some time, my OBOD studies being one. I have quite clearly had too much junk around without realising it but now by ditching some of it space is already appearing. It’s really interesting as I’d not been aware of how much my attention was on things that were clearly in the way.

I suspect there is more clearing out to do still. Once started it is easy to see other areas that need to be reviewed or reappraised such as the number of books and paperwork I have connected with work…… I may be some time πŸ™‚

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Grand Clear Out

  1. It is oh so true. We seem to find it so much easier to collect than to shed that which we’ve collected. At least, I seem to find it much easier to find excuses to keep something, someone or whatever rather than ‘get rid of them’ although once begun it becomes a rolling stone.

    You’ve reminded me that I’ve put off for far too long to begin such a clear out. With yet another move looming ( oh no!) I am seriously dreading the packing again. With your prompting….. good luck and wish me well. Lol.

  2. When I moved the same unpacked cardboard boxes for the 3rd time, I finally realized I didn’t need them! Talk about a slow learner 😬
    Old uni notes & journals; I burnt it all! So refreshing, & a bit pagan 😊πŸ”₯

    • Love it πŸ™‚ I have half a manuscript that is going nowhere that I think needs burning πŸ˜‚ My guides tell me to finish it or get rid of it but it’s making that final decision that can be hard even though I know πŸ™„ We all learn slowly it seems πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.