Healing

 

fullsizeoutput_a50

I have struggled with finding an ‘H’ blog for this week. This is in fact the 3rd blog I have started and probably the 4th or 5th subject I have toyed with, but as its now Wednesday I feel I need to knuckle down and write about something.

I have settled on ‘Healing’ as my final topic because after all that is what a lot of my work is about in one way or another.

I feel at this point that I need to be absolutely clear though that my work is never about me healing anyone else, but is always about me providing the space in which others can find ways to heal themselves. All I do is facilitate that.

I work with lots of things that, for want of any other way to describe them, have labels that help people make some sense of how I work, but in reality when I meet with a client we decide together what blend of assistance they need to move towards being able to heal. It is after all, all energy, the distinction is really only in the way energy is worked with/manipulated or passed on at the time.

I don’t believe there is any quick fix regarding healing. Instant changes happen not because of anything I or any other therapist does but because of the work the client has already done on themselves that makes it seem so. Right place, right time as it were.

I am also my own ‘work in progress’ for once we start on a journey of healing there is always more to do. I can’t work on others unless I am working on myself. There is though nothing more frustrating than thinking we have dealt with something only for it to reappear at a later date. This I am afraid is what healing is all about. It is the stripping away of layers, touching on what is there, dealing with and if we are lucky, clearing what reveals itself, but all the time knowing that unless we have reached the root of the issue then there is always more beneath it. I often use the analogy of an onion but sometimes that of an iceberg might be more appropriate. What can sometimes be hard to see though is that we never revisit something in the same way if it reappears. We are not in the same place we were the previous time, we are not the same people. We revisit with more experience, more knowledge and hopefully more wisdom. When we revisit we work and heal at a level deeper than we were able to the previous time and we can only do that because of the work we have done before.

There is also no ‘one size fits all’ in healing which is why I like to have a range of ways in which I can work both on myself and when I work with others. What is perfect on one occasion is unlikely to be on another. As we heal ourselves so the ways in which we work need to adapt to our new needs.

 

