A Day With My Inner Child

img_7577

This might not look much to those of you who get lots of snow or who live where it snows often but for me this is a big deal as it rarely snows where I live. Yesterday the forecast was for everyone getting some snow, except for us which is often the way, so this is a real bonus.

My inner child loves snow and she was really excited by the forecast that was giving out snow warnings and then really disappointed when it looked too warm here to get any. She always lives in hope though and spent the day watching the weather just in case.

Now I can, and do, work with weather spirits but usually only if there is a real need and never simply to keep my inner child happy, it therefore never crossed my mind to journey, armed with offerings and gifts to plead her case, so both she and the grown up I sometimes pretend to be, waited patiently. We were very happy when the sky darkened, the temperature dropped and it began to snow.

It didn’t snow that much, when I did go out and stand in it for a few minutes, letting it fall on my skin, it was wet snow, disappearing as fast as it came. Sometimes there was brilliant sunshine, blue skies and big white snowflakes being blown horizontally on the wind, sometimes grey skies and nothing, I didn’t get to walk in it, scrunch through it, make snow angels or a snowman as it didn’t settle, but snow it was and my inner child sat inside in the warm and watched happily.

