Rattles for Solstice 

I knew something would come to me if I gave the energy the space it needed 🙂

Yesterday out of nowhere I found myself thinking about making rattles and wondering whether I could find the time to prepare the materials in ceremony ready to make them on 21st. Now I know there is some discussion this year as to whether solstice is the 20th or 21st but I’m going for the 21st for there is method in my madness.

Today after I finished work, after I caught up properly with a friend I hadn’t spent quality time with for a long time, I decided to just go for it. 

Hide was unearthed from storage, wood for handles made itself known to me, sacred space was opened and the spirits of all were thanked. I was ready to go! 

Although in the past I made shamanic drums this is the first time I have made rattles and in many ways it is a trial run. Friends who I work with often have been asking to make rattles for some time now but it is difficult to get us all in the same place at the same time, plus I have no idea how long it might take. This way I will know.

At the moment Deer and Elk hide has been prepared for the heads. It is now in soak with sage and rosemary for cleansing and purification. Tonight it will bask in the light of the full moon and tomorrow soak up the solstice sunrise thus being fed and filled by the energy of both. This is why I am going for the 21st 🙂 

Tomorrow I will stitch each hide, fill them with sand, bind them to their handles and hang them to dry. They will not be completely finished on the solstice but their birthing will have well and truely begun. 

