Should opening your wardrobe/closet ever make you feel anxious?

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 11.57.00

I am all for decluttering, clearing things out and recycling or rehoming them. When the urge is strong to throw stuff away, to clear out cupboards, drawers, that space under the bed, the loft and so on, its usually a sign that a shift is taking place and the letting go of possessions reflects what is happening energetically for us. Clearing out and letting go on all levels allows new things to come in once we create space for them, even if that is just a few new outfits in the sales 🙂 Decluttering and making space on all levels is healthy and something we all need to be doing as often as we can.

Today though the radio is on and I have just listened to Annemarie O’Connor, author of the ‘Happy Closet’ talking about how for most of us opening our closet fills us with anxiety, how we should think of our clothes as staff members and ask if they contribute to our bottom line or if they need to be, I think the term used was, ‘redeployed’.

At this point I must admit I stopped listening and went to clear out the cupboard in the kitchen that contains our tinned foods. This was nothing, I should make very clear, to do with my being inspired by the conversation on the radio but everything to do with my opening a tin of chick peas last night that hissed like a can of coke as I did so. Scary stuff that along with visions of cans with long passed expiry dates exploding meant the clear out was long overdue.

Maybe its something to do with the fact that now I no longer ‘go out’ to work I slob around in tracksuit bottoms and a fleece preferring comfort over power dressing. When I work with clients or students I also need to be comfortable which means newer, smarter, sports trousers and a newer, smarter fleece. Sometimes I go all out and wear a long, loose velvet skirt or leggings and tunic but always something that I can relax in as I work.

A couple of years ago I also decided to only buy things I loved. Just liking something or it being a bargain in the sales no longer cuts it. I have to put something on, it has to feel perfect and only then does it come home. Even before this though I can’t ever remember opening my wardrobe and feeling anxious.

I also feel that if opening a wardrobe/closet is making anyone feel anxious, unless its the thought of the monster living in there that comes out at night, or being transported to Narnia if one ventures in too far, then there is something deeper going on, something that needs bringing to light, acknowledging and addressing. Self esteem, self worth, self value, self confidence, spring immediately to mind here but there are many underlying problems it could be.

Neither clothes nor any other possessions should ever make you anxious.

