When would I decline to read for or work with a client?

Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 16.43.42

I have decided to use Pagan Blog Prompts on Facebook to keep me blogging this year. Without a challenge last year I found it much harder and as many of you reading this will know I drifted back and forth for most the time rather than posting with anything like consistency.

The promo this week was concerning whether there were instances where you would decline to read Tarot for anyone. The original blog post that generated this prompt can be read here at Luna Sage.

I actually don’t read tarot at all nor in fact do I use cards for readings, apart from drawing some for a yearly spread, which is another story completely as I have yet to do one for the coming 12 calendar months. I do though read for others through Spirit Guide Readings and Auragraph Readings. If you follow the links you can find out more about what these entail but suffice to say that they do involve me in reading for other people so follow the same principles as Tarot.

Having given the question some thought I would decline to read for anyone in the following circumstances:

  • If the person was under the influence of alcohol or recreational drugs – this is a premise I follow for all of my work and I would refuse a client for anything under these circumstance.
  • If I had drunk alcohol – again I never work with anyone if I have had an alcoholic drink of any kind.

Actually now I am writing this I have realised that the criteria for declining to read for someone are simply part of my general ethics so would apply for energy or shamanic healing as well as to readings. So let me change the question here to”

‘When would I decline to work with a client’?

The answer, apart from the reasons already stated is:

  • If I was too tired to read for someone
  • If I was unwell and or my energy was very low
  • If the client was asking me to do something that was outside of my capabilities
  • If I felt at risk from the client for any reason
  • If it seemed the client was not benefiting from the work we were doing together
  • If I was being asked to diagnose

I am sure there are other reasons I have overlooked but luckily I am fortunate to attract great clients and students and so can count on one hand the number of times I have refused someone. With distance work including readings if I am having a ‘bad’ day then I can usually adjust the work or reading to a day when I am ok again. In fact I often have to wait to do a distance reading until the person’s guide(s) are ready to work with me, our conversely I have been known to be dragged into a reading by people’s guides much sooner than planned due to their impatience to work 🙂

Like the author of the original blog, I know I have a choice as to when and if I work and to whom I work with. This is healthy and means that I am respecting myself and m,y own safety as well as that of my client.

 

 

 

 

