Autumn Equinox / Alban Elfed / Mabon

So many names for the turn of the wheel at this time of year, the time where there is complete balance between light and dark, day and night, a time that prepares us for the coming of winter and Winter Solstice.

Like many others this year, I have been feeling the effects of the planetary shifts this year. The solar eclipse and new moon at the start of the month that coincided with my birthday, the pending Super Moon and lunar eclipse known as a Blood Moon at the end of the month and all that has occurred in between have all taken their toll. It has been hard to stay grounded amongst all the shifts that have been taking place.

Amongst this I have been letting go of a lot of things that are no longer filling me with joy along with some that are doing nothing but taking up space along with taking some time out from work to give myself chance to assimilate the changes and see where I want to go next. I have even been through my Facebook friends and have deleted all those that I have no recall of ‘friending’ or why.

After all these changes and shifts I am pleased to me marking this time of  year in much the same way as I did last year with a labyrinth walk at a friends house. The perfect representation of life, death and rebirth, walking a labyrinth is a great  way of releasing, going within and gaining understanding. I am also delighted that I am meeting and sharing food with other friends before we go, and sharing of food is always a good way ground as well as to mark any occassion.

It is at times like these though that I miss the labyrinth that used to be in my own garden. It was a large seven circuit one, big enough to walk with groups but not so big I got lost when walking alone. The upkeep on it was high and a damaged shoulder meant I couldn’t clip the paths so for me it had to go. For the spirits of the land the labyrinth had done its work and they were asking that the land to be returned to its original state and so it was. I still have a finger labyrinth but nothing beats the physical process of walking so I am looking forward to the rest of the day knowing that by the end of it I will be in a different place to the one I began it in.

3 thoughts on “Autumn Equinox / Alban Elfed / Mabon

  1. Pingback: Autumn Equinox / Alban Elfed / Mabon - Pagan Business NetworkPagan Business Network

  2. This recalls my experience of a small labyrinth that I found randomly in a park once. It had been taken over in the summer heat by insects, and seemed to me that at almost every turn there was a bug waiting with a little message. I’ll never forget this wasp that I encountered: it flew back and forth through the various intersections of the maze it was playing a game with me or playfully leading me onward. He knew that maze like the back of his wings. Even though he could have just flown above it he was deliberately playing inside it and seemed excited to have a friend to share it with. Great to hear from you. Thanks for sharing warmest regards!

Comments are closed.