Deciding to let go

One of the things that I have become aware of whilst not having my iPad is, as you may have guessed, how much time I spend doing things that I really don’t need to be doing. I am now making the most if the state of being iPad less to review what I am doing and letting go of as much of what doesn’t feel right as I can.

This doesn’t mean I am not going to be on Facebook but means that in the future I will pop in now and again, maybe not even every day, and I certainly won’t be checking it whenever I get some spare time.

As far as my blog goes, I’m not sure that anyone has missed me really. Yes I know that I have friends who read what I write but beyond that I’m really not sure. It does give me a space to ‘talk out loud’ and so I fully expect it to survive in some form but I’m not going to put myself under pressure to write every week, or more than once a week as I have done in the past.

I am also wondering about the Web of Life Connections posts and how useful people find them. If they are not useful again they can go. As I haven’t had anyone saying they miss them while I haven’t been posting I guess I have my answer here.

It is good to let go from time to time, to reflect, review and reorganise. I am in many ways grateful for the enforced chance to do this now and look forward to discovering the shape that things take as I move forward.

10 thoughts on “Deciding to let go

  1. Pingback: Deciding to let go - Pagan Business NetworkPagan Business Network

  2. A few things i find useful during times of enforced offline-ness.
    1. The chance to see how much of my online time is productive versus procrastinating. It’s amazing how much time I realize I waste online these days! Though for me, with my big life changes the last year, getting online is more of a break from the stresses of everyday life rather than productive anymore. But in all honesty, before my major life changes, I could spend all day online for days on end, watching silly cat videos rather than actually doing the writing and art that I had sat down to do in the first place.
    2. Finding alternative ways to get back online. For me, the most reliable ways to get back online when I don’t have computer or internet access immediately available is to borrow my husband’s phone or go to the library. Both come with their set of challenges. Such as a time limit at the library. I have to sit down, work, then get done and waste absolutely no time. Again, you don’t realize how much time is wasted until put into a situation where you can’t waste even a second. With my husband’s phone, all I can really do is check mail, check posts, respond to messages, and maybe do twitter-type posting.due to the small screen and awkward on screen keyboard.
    3. Time for new/old interests. I read a lot more when I don’t have a computer. I also listen to the radio a lot, too. Both of which I enjoy immensely.

    When I was younger, my mom used to take my computer tower away (after she caught me using a borrowed hookup from a friend to connect my tv to the hard drive tower when she took my monitor the first time) when I’d get in trouble. It was, to teenaged me, absolute world shattering despair. I never left the house, didn’t have many friends, so this was a better punishment than grounding me. At the time I hated her so much for it, but now in retrospect I am rather grateful. So many people these days, both young and older, have gotten so used to always being connected and online that when faced with a situation like that, or like your’s, they haven’t a clue what to do with themselves! Due to my mom’s creative punishments when I was younger, I do know what to do in those times.

    I know I don’t comment much. Running after a toddler all day affords very little time to even make a twitter post for me, but I do scroll through my feed and read the blogs when I’ve got the time. That said, your web of life connections may be currently inconsistent, but when they pop up in my feed, it seems to be a day I need the reminder of their messages. And they usually pop up when I need to take a step back, take a deep breath, and just have a few moments of me time. So that’s always been putting a smile on my face when it does happen. 🙂

    I know how hard having your main internet access taken away is (for whatever reason it’s taken away – bill reducing, broken hardware, etc.) so you just get back to us, the readers, whenever you can. No pressure to hurry. 🙂 At least not from me. If you’re still worried about not being able to post every week or so, when you’ve got time and internet access, write up a few posts at a time, and set them to automatically post. That way if you can’t get back for say two weeks, your blog still updates in the meantime. WordPress has this tool, but it’s amazing how many people don’t know it’s there to utilize it, or don’t know how to utilize it. 🙂

    • Oh I’ve done the scheduling posts every time I’ve been away but coming home found my iPad broke and so am borrowing one rather than having it to hand at the moment and I’ve realised how much I like not being online 🙂 So I’m taking my foot off the pedal, not pressurising myself to post weekly or more often and will just be here…whenever 🙂

  3. I do read your posts, just not the web of life ones. I’m rubbish at commenting and interacting on blogs though… (xidia)

  4. Hi Yvonne, I truly enjoy all your posts. I’m also on a solitary, eclectic path, but I’m rather new to it. I too have found myself retreating from being online and it is a freeing, wonderful feeling. However, I hope you’ll log on and share your thoughts and projects as I do take direction from them and learn a lot! Thanks! L.

    • Thanks Lynn, as you can see I’ve crept back on today but am flying through. I am sure I will be around but would agree with the freeing feeling that not being tied to being online gives 🙂

  5. Yes, you are missed. It’s good to hear from you. I’ve been a little out of the loop lately myself. But that has it’s advantages. Being able to take a step back freshens up the perspective. Warmest regards.

Comments are closed.