Book Review – Breaking the Mother Goose Code

imageBreaking the Mother Goose CodeHow a fairy tale fooled the world for 300 years

by Jeri Studebaker

This is a fascinating book involving detection, ancient practices, fairy tales, nursery rhymes, our ancestors and goddesses, all revolving around the tale of Mother Goose.

Basing her ideas around two main theories 1) that Mother Goose was a European goddess in disguise and 2) that Mother Goose appeared from nowhere at the time that European Pre Christians were being dealt a final blow with inquisitions and witch burnings, Studebaker sets out to prove that hidden within Mother Goose was in fact a goddess, a way of disguising the evidence until it was safe to reveal it. The goddesses Holda-Perchta, Aphrodite and Brigid are all among those considered to be the goddess depicted by Mother Goose.

Painstaking research and a creative and delving mind are put to task in teasing out links however tenuous at first in order to support her hypothesis and then the wider field of the purpose of fairy tales.

The author also looks at the secrets that are hidden in nursery rhymes of the time and in the second part of the book, at other early or Pre-patriarchal fairy tales and the various theories over their purpose in society as well as their common characteristics and proposing her own ‘secret code theory’. Finally, over several chapters she looks at specific European fairy tales and the information they provide about our goddess centred ancestors.

I have no memory of the Mother Goose tale as set out in this book, nor have I more than a passing knowledge of goddesses, this however did nothing to lessen my interest, particularly in the second part of the book where I found myself totally caught up in the world of my ancestors as disguised in fairy tales.

13 thoughts on “Book Review – Breaking the Mother Goose Code

  1. Wow! I wish I had of read this before I made my last post. I found a connection between The Empress Tarot card and The Mother Goose. The Brigid association too seems like a very natural one too, although I didn’t have a chance to explore that, as my knowledge of Celtic lore is limited at this stage. But as they say: “It’s on the cards,” as they say. I’m really keen to get your thoughts on this latest piece. Many thanks for this heads up! https://sharmarama.wordpress.com/2015/02/06/the-greenman-the-empress-little-john-and-indy-jones-untying-a-celtic-knotwork/

    • Just had time to have a read Leeby. The connection between the tarot card, Mother Goose, the inner child and Brigid make sense. I think you would really get a lot out of the book and now I’m writing that I have in my head the thought that it’s all to do with hidden messages.

      • Many thanks. Yes, I would love to read that book. Yes I believe that archaic truths have a way of resurfacing within the conciousness at the right time. I believe it’s to do with our embeddedness within the Earth’s dreaming mind. Despite the historical destruction of certain ancestral traditions, I think if we can reach back far enough into that primordial awareness, useful aspects of these traditions will be brought forth and manifested into our present world reality with ever greater clarity and meaning. I’m noticing a reclamation of co-creative goddess awareness on many levels in many spiritual traditions. Brigid being reclaimed as a “matron” saint for example. Makes sense, we are moving into an Aquarian age after all. The earth has greater celestial aquesience do what it can to bring more light and energy into those cultural paradigms which will address the current global energetic imbalances.

      • I believe that everything happens when the time is right – divine timing as if were. I also believe that we actually have access to all information at all times we just don’t know where or how to look. Time after all is a man made concept so there is in actuality no problem with accessing the past as it is now. Also that everything is hidden in plain sight as it were.

  2. And if it’s ok with you I would like to use this post to link to the one above as a resource for Mother goose lore! Another puzzle piece falls into place. Many,many thanks!

  3. Pingback: The Greenman, The Empress, Little John and Indy Jones: Untying a Celtic Knotwork | Shamagaia

Comments are closed.