Shades of Grey

I don’t often get down so when I am it comes as a bit of a surprise. Yesterday was such a day and always one for a bit of self help I spent some time trying to work out what was going on, what had caused that way of feeling so I could try and pull myself out of it which gave me this list:

It’s grey.

It’s cold.

It’s too cold not to have gloves on inside so I can’t paint or draw easily.

I spent the weekend being one day out so on Friday I thought it was Saturday, Saturday was Sunday and so on …

I’m tired

It’s January

It’s dark even though it’s only 2pm

Nothing there to really explain the feeling then but maybe that is just it. Perhaps it is never really any one thing that contributes to how we feel, rather lots of small things that when they come together have a positive or negative effect on our well being.

I am lucky in that I know this will pass quickly and probably by the time this is posted I will be feeling more like my normal self but I do pay attention to how I am feeling and recognise the signs. At this time of year especially, many people are prone to feeling down or low. Grey overcast days, cold weather, snow, ice, winds, lack of energy, lack of money, lack of sunshine, lack of anything really, all take their toll. Yesterday was a firm reminder of how easy it is to slip into a blue funk.

I have several go to remedies that I can use when feeling this way. One is to treat myself with Reiki, especially working around my head in particular the back of my head over the occipital bones which are release points in many complimentary therapies. A second is to take some Waratah, one of the Australian Bush Flower Essences which is a fast working essence for the ‘dark night of the soul’. A third is to have a good laugh and cheer myself up, there is bound to be a video on Facebook that will make me smile or even laugh if there is no one about to help. A fourth is to wrap myself up and go out into nature to wake myself up and energise myself. A fifth is to write about how I am feeling which helps put it all in perspective – hence why I have written this.

I am not for one minute suggesting that any of these are magic solutions for anyone seriously depressed but we all have days when we feel down and on days like these we can help ourselves if we try and if we do so, we can stop ourselves slipping any further or getting stuck here.

 

