But why is it New Year today?

It’s New Year’s Day and I was going to draw a Web of Life Connections Card for the day that’s in it but realised after I picked up the bag that I’m way too tired. Anything I drew would be inaccurate and I wouldn’t be able to connect and listen anyway. Sometimes we just need to know our limits and when we do, give in gracefully, which is what I’m doing today.

Instead I’m sat here thinking about what a strange time it is to have the end of one calendar year and the start of another. I know it’s based on ancient Pagan festivals but it’s so close yet so far that it feels, to me today anyway, completely wrong.

Yesterday when browsing online I came across a Druid wheel which shows the end of the old year and the start of the new year at Samhain on November 31st. I think it was seeing this that got me thinking and if your like to see this week for yourself you can find it here

This then brought me forward to Winter Solstice usually taken as 21st December, the longest night and shortest day in the Northern Hemisphere and said to be the start of the season of winter which continues until Spring Equinox. This day, for many Pagans is the time for reflection and looking forward, things that others so at New Year in the form of resolutions.

So here we have New Year, a time that coincides with neither Samhain nor Winter Solstice. It is not the end of, nor beginning of a season, it is just in the middle of things.

I seem to spend a lot of time speaking with my students about how time is a man made concept and doesn’t actually exist, I’m just wondering today why, when man came up with the Gregorian Calendar, the decision was made to have the end of one year and the start of another here.

4 thoughts on “But why is it New Year today?

  1. Deep delving thoughts for the depths of winter. It is awkward, I agree. The calendar we use is for societal convenience, because in a way everyday is the beginning of a new year, a new journey, new way of being. The spiritual calendar has more resonance for me with the marking of Samhain as end and Winter Solstice as a pivot point. Thank you for sharing these thoughts.

    • I’ve been working with the Bardic level of the OBOD for the last year or so and this is really the first time I’ve actually noticed the discordance. I think it’s been brewing since just before Winter Solstice and happened to solidify into thought this morning.

Comments are closed.