Riding it out

I’m not sure what is going on this week but I just can’t get going, especially with my blog 😦

Before going on holiday I managed to write and schedule all the blogs for while I was away. I’ve been back two weeks now and managed to blog happily for those weeks but then this week….nada!

Its possible that some of it is because the Pagan Blog Project only has Y and Z, so four more weeks to go and maybe I’m running down a bit, or maybe it’s just that I’ve run out of things to say …….for those people who know me this is unlikely though. So in reality I’ve no idea what the problem is.

I think, like most of us from time to time I just need a little time out, even if it is only for a day or so. If I take the time to check in with myself I’m not even in the right place to draw a web of life connection card today so I’m afraid that will be a little delayed everyone. To do this I need to be able to be still, centre myself and slip into the space where I can receive any messages that are available and today I am just not able to go there.

When we feel like this it is so important not to force ourselves to do something, in this case it would be counter productive as the results would be rubbish anyway.

I always tell my students that when we are tired, feeling down, under the weather and so on it’s always best to leave things go especially anything like dowsing or energy work. These are the times to be with yourself, not trying to work or do things for other people. Time today to listen to my own words I believe.

It does make me realise though, how many times when I was still working in a ‘normal’ mainstream job I would have pushed myself on, worked through the block as it were and perhaps produced work that was less than it could have been. How much better would I, and it, have been if I’d known then to just sit with how I was feeling, go into it for a while, acknowledge it and be at peace with it?

Anyway, that’s what I know I need to do today…..so with apologies for those waiting for a web of life connection, this is me signing off…..until tomorrow hopefully when normal service will be resumed πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Riding it out

  1. Having been a rather active blogger on a variety of platforms since I was 17 (I am now 27, soon to be 28) I have found that we all suffer from the Blogger Slump from time to time. Sometimes it lasts a few days. Sometimes it can be months or even a year between posts. Life can get in the way, or we often sit down, ready to type up or write down what it is we want to say, but just can’t seem to get it out right. Or we just simply draw a blank.
    Eventually, the slump passes and normal service resumes. Anyone who has blogged for longer than a month I think can really relate to that. What is important is not to “push through it” but to see where the slump takes us in search of our meaning and inspiration. The natural occurrence of the slumps, I feel, enable us to take a step back and look at where we’ve been, what we have accomplished, and provide us with moments of reflection. To evaluate where we are and where we are going not only with our blogs, but with our lives and how our blogs fit into that life.
    The goal, I often feel, of riding out the slump is to get back to the blog or project at the end of it. So many people during the first or second slump just give up, thinking they have run out of things to say, or that nobody really cares so why bother. Or any number of reasons outside of legitimate life circumstances that prevent them from blogging and getting back to their projects.
    That said, I have enjoyed following your blog for the short time it has been since I discovered it. It’s been quite useful and informative, and I look forward to when I see it on my Reader. Know that you have at least one fan waiting in both anticipation and understanding of the slump whenever you return to normal posting. I wish you the best as you ride out this slow period and figure out where to go and what to do next. πŸ™‚
    Brightest Blessings!

    • Thanks a million πŸ™‚ I know there are those I reach and one thing I really like is connecting with them so my thanks is genuine. I’m not going far I think, having blogged most the year with the pagan blog project I can’t see me letting the last few blogs go unwritten somehow. I think I just felt I needed to blog what was going on for me so anyone following the connections messages in particular knew what was happening. I’m not going to push through it though, thanks for the advice here πŸ™‚ I’m in the same place with a couple of things today so know I need to just sit it out and see where it takes me.

  2. I’m so glad I took the time to log onto your blog… Being “in the slump” for a while, has made me realise how important it is to me, to have my voice heard, in one way or another. Life, as you have both said, has a way of intruding also, which has been very true for me.
    One of the most difficult things I have found, is knowing where or who to “safely” go to when I need a sounding board. That said…after my next few days of medical appointments, or when I know just where I’m headed with them, I’m getting back in the saddle and “putting pen to paper”. It may have taken longer but there was something indefinably satisfying writing things longhand. Our fast paced world means the keyboard wins. 😊
    Looking forward to when you’re ready to enlighten, educate and enthral us again. πŸ˜€
    Blessings. Susan πŸ’–

    • I like how you say “putting pen to paper”. I too feel that the art of writing things down is so much more satisfying. Personally, I always feel terrible when I have to cut down my possessions because the first things to go are always my numerous notebooks (usually it’s because I’m moving in with someone, into a smaller place, or into a place where I know people like to snoop). Typing everything up and saving it to a computer is just kind of, well, it feels rather impersonal. There’s so much that can be gleaned from handwriting. Such as you may know that when you write while upset, your writing may get cramped, or near illegible. So when you stumble across something written that way later, you can clearly recall the memory and reflect on the circumstances if necessary. Or even laugh and go “well, it’s so silly now that something like that upset me” and move on. Or perhaps when you are overjoyed your writing becomes big and rounded, giving that joy and happiness a visible shape that everyone can recognize. Like adding happy faces or hearts to your lowercase i and j.

      • I have piles of journals that I could never part with. They are where I started, where I’ve been and how I got here and yes on a computer wouldn’t be the same in any way 😘

      • The other facet to handwriting is the power which we could imbue into what we were doing. Don’t you feel that writing down your spells and incantations gives them so much more of yourself and the power you can weild?
        My husband and I both have a love of stationary and especially good pens. I think it is one of life’s synchronicities that we met and have so many things which seem like points of contact, immutable and very powerful.
        It’s funny that we met ‘later in life’ and have chosen to remain with tradition and formally marry. Our own hand written vows were the Centre point on the ceremony. Even then, we both chose our favourite pens and paper with which to offer our vows to each other.
        Saying our hand written vows aloud to each otherb, before our witnesses – family and a few friends, made it seem more binding, more intimate and the sun coming through after days of rain…. a gift from the Goddess that this was right.
        All our work under the moon is gand written, even the few solar workings. I choose dawn because of the power I feel then… and I know it is understood that even though I do this for that reason it is understood that I cannot do so under the midday sun.
        My new persona under which I will start to work in 2015 is the Executive Sorceress. She is able to work in the executive world bringing the sorceress into play…the magic to work into each day for greater success for the good of all. I also plan to bring in the Shaman who will heal both aspects within the one to strengthen our connection to the old ways… . I have more meditation to be done to get her ready but I feel it’s not time to unite all a pects of who we are.
        Still working on it ascyou can see but all my notes are handwritten too. The magic feels so much more powerful.
        Blessings, Susan πŸ’–
        .

      • I just wanted to thank everyone who posted yesterday for their support. I really appreciated it and know how much difference it made. I’ve had chance since I posted to work through it a bit and feel so different today. I’ll be sharing it in a post at some point when I have made a bit more sense of it all.

Comments are closed.